You can control login access for both employees and contractors. Do note that once you dismiss someone, their login is immediately disabled as well.

 

Admin Options > People > Select an Employee / Contractor Profile > Scroll Down all the way > Disable Login


Admin Options > People > click on Profile


Scroll all the way down to find the Disable Login